Not the best month of my life, specially the last few weeks…
As a good movie fan, I usually go to the cinema twice a week and today was the perfect day for my weekly fix! I was going to let go of all my problems and stress inside that magical little dark room where I can always relax and think clearly about all of life’s mysteries… Guess what happened?

I was talking on the phone while I was driving (I was talking to my mom about an emergency in the arrangement of my dog’s funeral), when a cop politely asks me to pull over. “This is my lucky day“… I got a beautiful and expensive ticket and the possibility of being forbidden to drive. So, right then I though “Well, I WAS going to get my weekly fix of peace and quiet… not anymore I guess”. And after this “pleasant” third degree encounter with the Police, without any control over my reactions I start crying. Fortunately, it didn’t last long,  my imagination got the best of me, and a memory of a movie just popped into my head, that movie was no other than “As good as it gets“. I love this movie because it basically puts out there every lousy aspect of your life and makes fun of it, slams into you face how ridiculous some situations are, how ironic this life can be and how the only way to get through it is with good humor and a dash of irony… Irony can be a powerful tool!

So what’s the lesson here? Well, no matter how bad things are, they can always get worse! Just kidding, now seriously… I think no matter how bad things are, you always have the power and ability to turning them around and making them better, you can make these things work FOR you and not against you. Through laughter, patience and strength you can turn your problems into lovely stories to tell your kids, free lessons and unique tools to build your own stairs to overcome those apparently colossal walls…


What if this is as good as it gets?” Jack Nicholson as Melvin Udall in As Good As It Gets

